The Write Tools

Hooptedoodle

Gotta Laugh June 26, 2008

My son has a wonderful sense of humor. When something strikes him funny, he doesn’t hold back. His laugh fills the room… a head thrown back…deep belly laugh that brings tears to his eyes and an ear wide smile. It is the sound of pure bliss. I laugh, just because he is. 

He loves old cartoons, you know the ones our parent’s watched when they were kids… Something I love about him.  He is a lot like me in this way. I appreciate humor without swear words and complicated punch lines. When writing is funny, it doesn’t matter what age you are or era you live in… universal humor that crosses these lines…is magic.

Tex Avery, is a humorist like that….and his cartoon Magical Maestro (1952) is what brought my son to happy tears this morning. I figure we could all use some humor today, so here is your chance to fill a room with laughter and shed a few happy tears.

 

6 Responses to “Gotta Laugh”

  1. leafless Says:

    “He loves old cartoons, you know the ones our parent’s watched when they were kids.”

    My young nephew also loves old cartoons, especially Scooby Doo.

  2. littleman00 Says:

    I love Tex Avery. Friz Freleng’s cartoons were fun to watch, as well.

  3. dinu Says:

    It was a good one …:) I watched this with my friends in the office ( of course when our boss was away 😛 )

  4. Mac McCarty Says:

    If you guys ever get transferred to Quantico or HQMC, be on the lookout for a summer program at Wolf Trap Farms National Park based on the Bugs Bunny cartoons. I thing they do it every two years or so.

    The National Symphony Orchestra plays the original scores for cartoons (most of which are classics) while the cartoons themselves are shown on large screens. The seats on the grass are great.

    My kids–no fans of the classics, darn it–were enchanted.

  5. Diane Heeney Says:

    This description of your son sounds just like my Michael, who just turned 8. I love his laugh, and I’ve often said to Erin, my oldest, “we really need to get that on tape before he outgrows it”. =) I can also appreciate “shoveling out”. We can commiserate on that one, girlfriend.

    Thanks for offering tips to prospective authors on your site. I confess I was frustrated often, esp. when my older kids were still ankle biters…I wanted more time for reflection, for reading (my great aspiration was to visit the library and actually sit down in one of those cushy chairs and read something!) and…writing! I found the following tip from Elisabeth Elliot most helpful:

    “Don’t give up that yearning. During these busy years while you take care of small children and give yourself to being a godly wife and mother, lay the firm footing on which good writing must be built. Read great books if you have time to read anything at all. Get rid of the junk that comes in the mail, eschew all magazines and newspapers if your reading time is limited, and by “hearing” the really great authors, learn the sound and cadence of good English.”

    Thanks for what you are doing to try and impact others. ~D

  6. Heidi Says:

    I love the old cartoon especially road runner.
    I wish there were more of them.


Leave a Reply

